Under the Hill

so tired…

Flashcards and Fitness

with 3 comments

“Two days ago I discovered something that stunned me: Using Anki WHILE walking on my treadmill was enjoyable. I easily did it for an hour and the next day (yesterday) did it for an hour again. The time goes by quickly. Two boring activities, done together, became pleasant. Anki alone I can do maybe ten minutes. Treadmill alone I can do only a few minutes before I want to stop. In both cases I’d have to be pushed to do it at all. Yet the combination I want to do; 60 minutes feels like a good length of time.”Seth Roberts

I think Seth might be onto something with that. I noticed that while I can’t stand listening to audiobooks anymore (it was different when I was a kid), during long travels I actually enjoy listening to audio lectures even on topics that do not really interest me (and those topics normally are a bit weird because there are not that many free online classes available to download and listen to).
I dislike sitting in some of my lectures because the topics don’t interest me at all, yet I cherish listening to lectures about rhetoric when travelling between Poland and Germany? It’s weird, isn’t it?

I too should try using flashcards when working out next time. Actually I should try working out again…

Written by G. Neuner

24. February 2010 at 2:24 am

Posted in Odd

Tagged with , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can’t figure out how to subscribe to the comments via RSS . I want to keep abrest of this, how do I do that?

    San Diego Real Estate

    5. March 2010 at 8:01 am

    • click the big orange rss-button on the top right. your rss reader should do the rest. if you have none you have to install one first. for firefox there is the sage-extension which might do the trick. in my Linux system I normally use liferea for that.

      G. Neuner

      4. April 2010 at 4:36 am

  2. This is a great post; it was very informative. I look forward in reading more of your work. Also, I made sure to bookmark your website so I can come back later 🙂

    Pasquale Shawnee

    6. March 2010 at 4:35 pm


Leave a Reply

