Under the Hill

so tired…

Under Oak Hill

with 9 comments

My entry for the One Page Dungeon Contest 2010: A small module taking a group of low to mid-level characters through a cave system. I noticed during writing this little dungeon how used I am, as a referee,still thinking in DSA’s terms. Where others would have put in a lot of weird and uncommon monsters more, my enemies are a bit more mundane; if one can call undead bears mundane… (also the sheer mass of creatures is showing the D&D).

This design paradigm is normal for The Dark Eye, as most gamemasters notice pretty soon how hard it is to write extraordinary creatures and plots without completely breaking the whole setting. I kept myself mostly to usual fantasy fare with the monsters in that module. A few were not in the Labyrinth Lord basic rules (which I used as reference); that won’t matter, I will post writeups on those the next few days.

The map was created with Dungeon Crafter v1.4.1 (the free one), then finished off in GIMP. I noticed that at least when using it under WINE I cannot turn tiles in Dungeon Crafter, or even save a map, for reasons unknown, so the mapping took longer than I planned and still is lacking something. Anybody got a better mapper that’s also usable on a Linux system?

Update: Feb 26. 2010 – replaced download link with slightly corrected version

Download: Under Oak Hill

Related: New Creatures

Written by G. Neuner

25. February 2010 at 2:17 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] Under Oak Hill [...]

  2. I didn’t see the license http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/
    I might have missed it but thought I’d point it out in case you forgot it.

    Love your One Page!

    OldMotherCrow

    27. February 2010 at 1:30 pm

  3. Hmm, maybe I’m too much into this Internet stuff already… the link is the CC-symbol in the right upper corner, if one clicks there (or just hovers there) the license schould become apparent…
    or is a textlink necessary?

    G. Neuner

    27. February 2010 at 4:13 pm

  4. nope, just asked and the license is okay like that…

    G. Neuner

    27. February 2010 at 5:17 pm

  5. I got to use this entry for yesterday’s exploration of tunnels beneath the castle the party has occupied. Luckily they approached it from the cellar, found the spider, lit a fire and drove it out. There, I ruled, it fought with the bears. I quickly rolled three saves vs. poison and figured that two died and the third bear left the area. Easy win for playing smart.

    Alex Schröder

    24. March 2011 at 6:07 pm

  6. [...] is a repost of one that I published on another blog a year back. It was part of fleshing out the One Page Dungeon I did for the 2010 contest. I am fond of this one, simple as it might be. You have to know that I worked [...]

  7. [...] wanted to have something different this year. Last year it was a rather simple and too railroady fantasy cave system, this year I wanted to do something more science [...]

  8. I used this adventure for my homebrew Beacon game when my players surprised me. The session writeups you can find here: http://beacond20.blogspot.com/2011/08/party-continues-pt4.html
    and here: http://beacond20.blogspot.com/2011/08/meanwhile-back-at-ruined-keep.html.

    Thanks!

    Todd

    31. August 2011 at 6:01 pm

  9. [...] that makes me all warm and fuzzy: someone posted about using my 2010 One Page Dungeon for their [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

